Books, Books, and More….Well Books

I realize I haven’t given myself a name since my first blog so my name for this blog my name is Maddy, a good friend of mine and a great reader (and a great speaker for that matter). For this blog I wanted to tell you about my top twenty favorite books, but then I realized I can’t decide what books to choose as I’ve read so many great books.  Therefore I’m just going to tell you about some of my favorite books, series, and authors.

-I feel the first book I should talk about is the book I just finished, Twisted by Laurie Halse Anderson. It was amazing, as is the author. I’ve read one other book by her so far, Speak, which is a pretty popular book. Anderson writes mainly books about hard times in a teenagers life, from their point of view, and how they get through it. Her books are usually realistic fiction and her writing style is awesome.

-Next I have to talk about the best series in the world. I am, of course, talking about the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. All I have to say about them is that if you haven’t read them, you haven’t lived.

-The Hex Hall series by Rachel Hawkins also has a special place in my heart and is an amazing series. I would suggest it to any Harry Potter fans as it’s similar to the Harry Potter books, but not close to the same plot. It’s got magic, adventure, and romance. If I hadn’t read the Harry Potter series these would probably be my favorite books. My friend Maddy actually suggested it to me.

-Rick Riordan is a great author and I’ve read all of his Percy Jackson, Heroes of Olympus, and Kane Chronicle novels. They’re books with adventure and great mythological references and characters anyone would fall in love with.

-If you like puzzles and mysteries The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart is the perfect series for you. It’s one of those few series with no romance in it but is still amazing. It’s about four kids who have to unite to pretty much save the world. Stewart has also written another book about Mr. Benedict’s childhood that is also a great book.

-The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins is also amazing, yet frightening at some points, especially when you think that it could possibly happen in our future if we aren’t careful. Collins wrote a great series with a good plot and even better characters.

-Finally, The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton, is a great story about a boy who lives on the rough end of the town and the Socs (short for socials) or popular kids. It’s not as well written as some of the other books I’ve mentioned, but the author wrote it when she was in high school so I have to cut her some slack. Overall it’s a great book.

There you go, those are some of my favorite books, series, and authors. These are by no means my only favorite books, but I feel like doing another list of some good books would be nice, so I’ll write about some of my other favorite books after I’ve read some more books I really like, or finish a series.

I hope anyone who reads this gets some great books to read from it.

Leave a Reply

